The desktop with little more information

When I first started using Linux, specially Ubuntu, I came to know about “Conky” and the great things that it can do. Starting from the CPU usage, RAM usage, Load average, Network details to Process Information, Weather info etc. all can be displayed on the desktop itself.

All these can be done without much load on the system. So it’s undoubtedly a very useful tool.

When I went back to Windows (just in case I don’t forget using it) there is Rainmeter which gives almost a similar type of information on the desktop itself. It’s beautiful too. There are some already created setups which can be used right away without the need of spending much time on them.

Finally, when I started using Mac, I was wondering whether there are any such tools or not. Although when first we met (me and “GeekTool”), I could not understand the usage of it. Until again I bumped on it though a site where I saw the usage of ‘GeekTool’, I almost thought that there may not be any such tool on Mac. There are some sites where many script are there, using which a Mac user gets similar information like Conky. The best part is one can even see a Global map with Weather. You can control the refresh rate in such a way, so that not much load is given on the system.

Some users may wonder that because there are widgets available on all kind of systems (Windows, Linux and Mac) what are the specialities of these tools. My understanding is that other than being very light, these tools give users more control on what they want to display and how they want to display.

So please enjoy using them.

About Arindom

Loves Football (Soccer) and other Sports. Love Music - specially Indian Classical Music and the golden oldies from Bollywood. Also loves my Ubuntu system. Loves this World very much.
This entry was posted in Mac, System Information, Windows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

